Make a Donation

Help us build the future

What is the Annual Appeal? 
The Annual Appeal is a fundraising effort that was recently initiated by GSA to sustain and grow its cornerstone programs and projects: travel awards, career development programs, journals, and conferences. This initiative offers a mechanism through which our professional community can give back—both to the field of genetics and to an organization that has positively impacted the lives and careers of thousands of scientists.

Why is GSA conducting the Appeal?
GSA, like many professional societies, is facing substantial challenges, such as fluctuating membership, the transition to an open access publishing model, and responding to the rapidly changing needs of our community. In planning for this uncertainty, we conducted a study in 2018 to determine if fundraising was a viable strategy to help protect and sustain GSA’s mission—and whether our constituency would be supportive. The concept met with overwhelming support, with nearly 95% of respondents being willing to donate to GSA.

Who is invited to participate?
All individuals with an interest in the future of genetics and the scientific community are invited to participate in the Appeal. We want everyone to be able to play a role. Companies, foundations, and other institutions will also have an opportunity to support our programs. We will take a careful approach in order to ensure this effort operates with the highest degree of integrity and equity for all organizational participants.

Is my contribution tax deductible? 
GSA is a non-profit charitable organization under Section 501 (c)(3). Contributions to GSA may be deductible as a charitable contribution for US federal income tax purposes. Please consult your tax advisor.

Read a message from the 2019 Annual Appeal Co-Chairs

Read the Case for Support

Donate Now

It’s been incredible to see such a strong response from leaders in the genetics community — rallying together to ensure GSA will have the resources needed to sustain and build upon its legacy. We are humbled by their generosity and know it will inspire the community to participate in this important effort.

Terry R. Magnuson, 2019 GSA President and Annual Appeal Co-Chair

Meet our Annual Appeal Committee

GSA is grateful to those who have not only helped by making a financial commitment to this effort but are also leading the initiative by serving on the Annual Appeal Committee.

Swathi Arur

Jef Boeke

Jay Dunlap

Marnie Halpern

Joe Heitman

Phil Hieter

Mark Johnston

Thomas Kaufman

Jeannie Lee

Jasper Rine

Terry Magnuson (GSA President)

Denise Montell (GSA Vice-President)

Thank you to our 2020 Donors

GSA would like to thank our lead and major phase donors of 2020.

Diamond Level ($5,000+)

Platinum Level ($2,500–$4,999)

Gold Level ($1,000–$2,499)


Hugo Bellen

Giovanni Bosco

Joseph Gall

Kim Kamdar

Erika Matunis

Silver Level ($500–$999)

Bronze Level ($250-$499)

Chantal Akerib

Vicki Chandler

Yasushi Hiromi

Stuart Macdonald

Aaron Mitchell

Nicholas Rhind

Deborah Yelon

Friend Level (<$250)

Anonymous (4)

Shawn Ahmed

Mardelle Atkins

Patricia Burke

Anita Corbett

Krista Dobi

Barbara Dunn

Tyler Eble

Janan Eppig

Benjamin Feldman

Eric Haag

James Haber

David Hall

Celina Juliano

Suzanne Karabin

Toni Kazic

Darcy Kelley

Soni Lacefield

Stefen Laukien

LeAnne Lovato

Susan Lovett

Paul Mains

Nathan Mortimer

Steven Munger

Michael O’Connor

Pamela Padilla

Annette Parks

Linda Restifo

Hannele Ruohola-Baker

Jason Stajich

Ian Swinburne

Richard Tashjian

Jennifer Tate

Mariana Wolfner

Susan Younger

Thank you to our 2019 Appeal donors

GSA would like to thank our lead and major phase donors of the 2019 Appeal.

Diamond Level ($5,000+)

Anonymous (2)

Judith Berman

James Birchler

Jef Boeke

David Botstein

Lynn Cooley

Jeff Hall

Dan Hartl

Lee Hartwell

Phil Hieter

Mark Johnston

Massachusetts General Hospital Lab

Denise Montell

Terry Orr-Weaver

Allan Spradling

Fred Winston

Platinum Level ($2,500–$4,999)

Sue Biggins

Ed Buckler

Peter and Lucy Cherbas

Thomas Cline and Barbara Meyer

JoAnne Engebrecht

Anita Hopper

Robert Horvitz

Jeannie Lee


Terry Magnuson

Erika Matunis

Dennis McKearin

Tim Schedl

Gold Level ($1,000–$2,499)

Victor Ambros and Candy Lee

Swathi Arur

Fred Ausubel

Sharon Amacher and Jay Hollick

Cori Bargmann

Bonnie Bartel

Celeste Berg

Sue Biggins

Douglas Bishop

Meredith Blackwell

Pat Brown

John Carlson

Marian Carlson

David Catcheside

Vicki Chandler

Kwang Wook Choi

Bill Dove

Jay Dunlap

Sarah Elgin

Stanley Fields

G.R. Fink

Margaret Tatnall Fuller

Joseph Gall

Mark Garfinkel

Susan Russo Gelbart

Pamela Geyer

Andrew Golden

Marian Goldsmith

David Greenstein

Mary Lou Guerinot

Marnie Halpern

Paul Hardin

Iswar Hariharan

Joe Heitman

Hopi Hoekstra

Sue Jinks-Robertson

Thom Kaufman

Nancy Keller

Justin Kumar

Jennifer Lodge

Matt Meselson

John Merriam

Stephanie Mohr

Fernando Pardo-Manuel de Villena

Teresa Pawlowska

John Pringle

Elizabeth Raleigh

Jasper Rine

Rodney Rothstein

Matthew Sachs

Trudi Schupbach

Warren Shore

Piali Sengupta

William Sullivan

Lorraine Symington and Bill Holloman

Kelly Tatchell

Jeremy Thorner

David Threadgill

Mariana Wolfner

Chaoting Wu

Michael Young

Hong Yu

Silver Level ($500–$999)

Anonymous (2)

Karen Artzt

Hugo Bellen

Deborah Bell-Pedersen

Philip Benfey

Joan Bennett

Kerry Bloom and Elaine Yeh

Kirsten Bomblies

Katherine Borkovich

Julie Brill

Brian Calvi

Rachel Cox

Susan Gerbi

Louise Glass


Susan Gerbi

Jim Haber

Matthew Hahn

Scott Hawley

Bernadette and Charlie Holdener

Barbara Howlett

Judith Jaehning

Laura Johnston

Karam Khateeb

Tom Kornberg


Mitzi Kuroda

Michael Lynch

Anthony Mahowald

Harmit Malik

Kristi Montooth

T.D. Petes

Mark Rose

Stephen Schaeffer

Gary Stormo

Anne Villenueve

Judith Yanowitz

Bronze Level ($250-$499)

Anonymous (7)

Flora Banuett

David Beier

Bonita Brewer

Rebecca Burdine

Luis Corrochano

Trisha Davis

Rochelle Easton

David Garfinkel

John Gergen

Susan Gottesman

Saul Honigberg

Christina Hull

Kenneth Irvine

David Kaback

Andrew Kreuz

Danny Lew

Corinne Michels


Aaron Mitchell

Michelle Momany

Todd Nystul

Xuewen Pan

Michael Resnick

Jason Stajich

Paul Sternberg

Friend Level (<$250)

Anonymous (5)

Joseph Ardizzi

Juan Lucas Argueso

Richard Behringer

Edward Blumenthal

Charlie Boone

Stuart Brody

David Brow

Mary Clancy

Gregory Copenhaver

Dirk Jan de Koning

Arthur Edison

Cassandra Extavour

Barry Ganetzky

Erika Geisbrecht

Amy Gladfelter

Elliott Goldstein

Elizabeth Grayhack

Marc Halfon

Shin Hatakeyama

David Hill

Jay Hirsh

George Hoffman

Scott Holmes

Robert Holmgrem

Yen-Ping Hsueh

Aashiq Kachroo

William Kelly

Andrew Kern

Mary Kimble

Amanda Larracuente

Daniel Lee

Haifan Lin

Xiaorong Lin

Zhao Liu

Wolfgang Lukowitz

Paul Mains

William McGinnis

Beth Montelone

Nathan Mortimer

Kathleen Newton

Minou Nowrousian

Kate O’Connor-Giles

Susan Parkhurst

Joe Pedrazolli

Norbert Perrimon

John Postlethwait

Jesse Raab

David Remington

Lucia Rothman-Denes

Xin Xiang

Hubert Zhang

Pierre Roubertoux

Didem Sarikaya

William Saxton

Randy Schekman

David Smyth

Nick Sokol

Franklin Stahl

Joan Steitz

Francesca Storici

Sheng Sun

Siyu Sun

Richard Tashjian

Jordan Ward

Benjamin White

Chaoyang Xue

Vikas Yadav

Oded Yarden

Virginia Zakian