Genetics Society of America Medal


The Genetics Society of America Medal honors an individual member of the Society for their contributions to the field of genetics at the mid-career level (up to 15 years since starting an independent position). GSA established the Medal in 1981 to recognize members who exemplify the ingenuity of the GSA membership through elegant and highly meaningful contributions to modern genetics.

Nomination Process and Instructions

Full instructions on how to nominate for a GSA Award are available here.

Briefly, a nomination packet includes 

  • Nominee name and contact information
  • Nominator name and contact information (if different from the nominee)
  • Cover Letter (250 words or fewer)
  • NIH-style biosketch (≤5 pages)
  • Lived-experience statement (250 words or fewer)
  • Selection questionnaire (see below)
  • Demographic survey (optional)

Selection Questionnaire

  • Describe three of the nominee’s most impactful contributions to science since starting their independent position. (100 words or fewer)
  • Describe the nominee’s contributions to the scientific community as a whole since starting their independent position. This may include efforts to diversify the field and make it more inclusive. (100 words or fewer)
  • Describe the nominee’s contributions to mentoring and education since starting their independent position. (100 words or fewer)


To be considered for the Genetics Society of America Medal, the nominee must be an individual GSA member who has been in an independent position for at least 7 and no more than 15 years at the nomination deadline.

Important Dates

Nominations are due September 5, 2023.

Past Recipients

2023 No award given
2022 Margaret Fuller, Stanford University School of Medicine
2021 Douglas Koshland, University of California, Berkeley
2020 Bonnie Bassler, Princeton University
2019 Anne Villeneuve, Stanford University
2018 Mariana Wolfner, Cornell University
2017 David Kingsley, Stanford University and HHMI
2016 Detlef Weigel, Max Plank Institute for Developmental Biology
2015 Steven Henikoff, Fred Hutchison Cancer Research Center, University of Washington, and HHMI
2014 Angelika B. Amon, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and HHMI
2013 Elaine A. Ostrander, National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health
2012 Joanne Chory, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
2011 John R. Carlson, Yale University
2010 Barbara J. Meyer, University of California, Berkeley
2009 Marian Carlson, Columbia University and HHMI
2008 Susan Lindquist, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and HHMI
2007 Shirley M. Tilghman, Princeton University
2006 Victor Ambros, Dartmouth Medical School
2005 Stephen J. Elledge, Harvard Medical School
2004 Trudy F. C. Mackay, North Carolina State University
2003 Jeffrey C. Hall, Brandeis University
2002 Andrew Z. Fire, Carnegie Institution of Washington
2001 H. Robert Horvitz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2000 Jack Szostak, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School
1999 Charles H. Langley, University of California, Davis
1998 Ronald W. Davis, Stanford University School of Medicine
1997 Christine Guthrie, University of California, San Francisco
1996 Elliot Meyerowitz, California Institute of Technology
1995 Eric Wieschaus, Princeton University
1994 Leland H. Hartwell, University of Washington
1993 Jonathan R. Beckwith, Harvard University
1992 Maynard V. Olson, University of Washington
1991 Bruce S. Baker, Stanford University
1990 Nancy Kleckner, Harvard University
1989 Allan C. Spradling, Carnegie Institution of Washington
1988 David Botstein, Stanford University
Ira Herskowitz, University of California, San Francisco
1987 Sydney Brenner, University of Cambridge, UK
1986 Gerald Rubin, University of California, Berkeley
1985 Philip Leder, Harvard University
1984 David S. Hogness, Stanford University
1983 Charles Yanofsky, Stanford University
1982 Gerald R. Fink, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1981 Beatrice Mintz, Institute for Cancer Research, Philadelphia