2022 Board of Directors Election

All 2022 GSA members are eligible to vote in Board elections.

This year’s ballot includes the election of the 2023 Vice-President (who will be 2024 President), the Treasurer, and three Directors to three-year terms that will begin on January 1, 2023.

We encourage you to carefully consider each candidate’s biographical sketch and candidacy statement before casting your vote. GSA strives to serve the entire breadth and diversity of our community, so please consider the overall composition of the current Board as you cast your vote for one candidate in each section of the ballot.

Voting will close on November 21, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. EST.

View Candidates

Access Ballot

Nominating Committee

This ballot was prepared by the 2022 Nominating Committee:

Hugo Bellen, Chair (ex officio) Baylor College of Medicine and Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Swathi Arur, Secretary (ex officio) University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Mike Buzsczcak, Treasurer Univeristy of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Pamela Geyer – University of Iowa, Carver College of Medicine

Mark Johnston – University of Colorado School of Medicine

Steve Munger, at-large Director – The Jackson Laboratory

Election Procedure

The candidate receiving the majority of votes in each section of the ballot will be elected.

GSA provides the following safeguards:

  • Only current GSA members are able to vote.
  • No one may vote more than once.
  • No one can determine or duplicate anyone else’s vote.
  • No one can change a vote once it has been submitted.
  • After voting, each voter will receive an immediate online verification, which serves as a vote receipt.

GSA is incorporated in Maryland and, under Maryland state law, any membership vote where the membership is not physically present together is done by submitting a proxy. GSA has decided to use directed proxies, which means members will be able to complete a ballot indicating their preferred candidates and the holder of the proxy will cast the votes on behalf of the members. The Board of Directors has designated Swathi Arur, GSA Secretary, as the proxy holder for this election. By using a proxy, you are counted as being present and your vote will be cast as you instruct.